Bitty Ruminations 68 – Conversation with a reader

Posted on August 17, 2012

36


A mostly remembered report of a recent conversation:

Him: Of course I know your work. At one point, I used to love your reviews.

Me: [Awkward smile, with the mind furiously latching on to “used to.”] Thanks.

Him: At that time there was no one else writing like you.

Me: [Awkward smile continuing, with the mind now working over “at that time.”] Thanks.

Him: What happened yaar?

Me: What do you mean?

Him: Nowadays I don’t read your reviews. They’re too full of…

Me: [Please, God, please – don’t complete that sentence with “yourself.”]

Him: … metaphysical meaning.

Me: [Phew, dodged a bullet there. Awkward smile, needless to say, continues.]

Him: I’m an ordinary guy. I’m a mass reader. If you don’t write for me, you’re dead.

Me: [Awkward smile. A slight pause.] So, you watch a lot of movies?

PS: Names have been changed to protect the privacy of people.

PPS: No animals were harmed during the making of this conversation.

