“Hara Hara Mahadevaki”… A dreadful “adult comedy” that’s neither all that adult nor much of a comedy

Posted on September 29, 2017

21


Spoilers ahead…

Read the full review on Film Companion, here: http://www.filmcompanion.in/article/hara-hara-mahadevaki-movie-review

Hara Hara Mahadevaki, which advertises itself proudly as an adult comedy, opens with a politician who wants to become Chief Minister by bombing… something. I have to make a confession here. I am not going to be able to give you any specifics, for the writing is… Let me give you an example. To the two goons he’s hired for the job (‘Naan Kadavul’ Rajendran in a Mohawk, Karunakaran in an Afro), the CM-wannabe says, “I’m not interested in your past. Only in the blast.” I felt a fever coming. Is everyone going to talk in bad rhyme / Is that how I’m going to spend my time? No, it turns out. The hero owns a hearse / And things get much worse.

Continued at the link above.

Copyright ©2017 Film Companion.

Posted in: Cinema: Tamil