‘Uri – The Surgical Strike’ vs ‘Kumbalangi Nights: The Gollapudi Debut Director Award goes to… both!

Posted on March 17, 2020


Aditya Dhar and Madhu C Narayanan have won the Gollapudi Srinivas National Award for 2019. For the first time since the award’s inception, it’s a tie.

Spoilers ahead…

The Gollapudi Srinivas National Award is unique. It was instituted in 1998, in memory of the young filmmaker whose name the award carries. He passed away in an accident in 1992, during the shoot of his first feature. The award, therefore, is presented to a director who made his debut the previous year. The list of winners extends from Leslie Carvalho (the first recipient, in 1997, for The Outhouse) to Shyama Prasad (Agnisakshi, 1998) to Hemanth Rao (Godhi Banna Sadharana Mykattu, 2016), Konkona Sen Sharma (A Death in the Gunj, 2017) and C Prem Kumar (96, 2018). The most high-profile ‘first-timer’ is Aamir Khan, who won, in 2007, for Taare Zameen Par.

Read the rest of this article on Film Companion, here: https://www.filmcompanion.in/gollapudi-Srinivas-award-2019-winners-uri-kumbalangi-nights-best-debut-director-aditya-dhar-madhu-c-narayanan-baradwaj-rangan

Copyright ©2020 Film Companion.