Arun Matheswaran’s ‘Saani Kaayidham’, on Amazon Prime, is a gory revenge drama with impeccable craft, but the writing needed much more meat

Posted on May 6, 2022

24


Spoilers ahead…

The main attraction of the film is the cast. Stripped of makeup, Keerthy Suresh dives into a difficult role. And Selvaraghavan is wonderful.

saani kaayidham

When I saw Arun Matheswaran’s first film, Rocky, I said that the narrative was generic, but the film signalled the arrival of a genuine cinematic voice. I said that the film’s USP was the gorgeously designed and utterly unapologetic violence. I said that after a point the violence becomes repetitive and it begins to look like action scenes or violence for the sake of action scenes and violence. I said that the story and characters are generic, and the premise was just this: You killed someone from my family and now I’m going to take revenge. There’s a brother-sister angle, a little girl angle. There are scenes about time and wristwatches. And the film is divided into chapters with quirky titles.

You can read the rest of the review here:

https://www.galatta.com/tamil/movie/review/saani-kaayidham/

And you can watch the video review here:

Copyright ©2022 GALATTA.