Vijay’s ‘Master’ will fetch him Rs 80 crore, and he deserves it, so what’s the problem?

Posted on March 18, 2020

48


What we have in Kollywood is the complete ascendance of the hero, at the cost of every other stakeholder, from the distributors to even the producer.

Spoilers ahead…

In 2013, a little before the release of Dhoom 3, I interviewed Aamir Khan for The Hindu. I said that this seemed to be a project that was more about getting the numbers, and he replied: “No film is a preordained hit. But yes, the chances of success in this case are high. And like any project, I chose this one because I loved the script. I listened to the narration and I was excited by it. And then we go back and work out the economics – how much we can spend, and so on, so that we can ensure profits for everyone down the chain, the exhibitors, the distributors, everyone. My interest in numbers is limited to the fact that I want my films to make back the money invested in them.”

Read the rest of this article on Film Companion, here: https://www.filmcompanion.in/tamil-movies-thalapathy-vijay-master-80-crore-salary-lokesh-kanagaraj-aamir-khan-rajinikanth-ajith-akshay-kumar

Continued at the link above.

Copyright ©2020 Film Companion.